Celebrity Status

Before we headed off on the road my boss warned us about the “celebrity” we would begin to feel traveling around Am’rca.

First response from the group: HAHAHAHAHAHA.

He then explained how things would be for us …and how we MAY change.

He explained that every year the group laughs, but come October’s meeting the celebrity status shines through.

He said it starts simple enough: You drive around constantly waving to people, you go to gas stations and you are mobbed by the “paparazzi.” And then little by little everyone wants to know you, wants to hang out with you and wants to ask you a million questions. Even when you are “off” the job.

Oh, the life of the celebrities.

Funny thing is—after day one—I could totally see why people start to feel like celebrities.

We pulled into gas station after gas station and no one would be in the parking lot. Then, out of the woodwork, at least 30 people would come up to take pictures, ask US to be in pictures, and stand in awe as I explain that we have to hit the road and shut my door as they try to climb in behind me.

They stand, frozen, as we leave. Camera in one hand, a huge smile on their face, and waving frantically with the other hand as we head back on the interstate.

And this is only when we stop.

The highway is insane.

People will HANG OUT their window to take a picture. I can’t believe how many people have their cameras with them at all times. We’ve had people slow down in front of us just so we would have to pass them on the left.

Children and adults give the same sign I used to give truckers, you know, the elbow/first pump that leads to the honking of the horn.

Everywhere we went yesterday, whether it was the highways, long country roads or adorable main streets throughout middle-of-nowhere Am’rca we brought a special experience to hundreds.

But, like my boss said, I have to watch out for the celebrity status. Because this job is not just a job, as a past employee told us, it’s a lifestyle.

So as I grip the massive steering wheel and see the flat farmland surrounding me I will smile and wave for pictures as I cruise down the highway.

But, I will always remember what that steering wheel I am holding is connected to and realize that I am not the celebrity at all.

And I am sure you all will keep me grounded as well!!!

OH! and don’t forget about my Amr’cn adventure blog

3 Responses to “Celebrity Status”


  1. 1 jenny June 16, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    Thank goodness you are such a down-to-earth gal. I’d hate to see this job go straight to your head or your buns…Stay gold pony-girl (The Outsiders) and stay in touch.

  2. 2 Mike June 16, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    hey there, lb. great stuff. can’t wait to read more about these adventures. I’m off to check the other blog, too.

  3. 3 CuriousC June 17, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    You MUST tell me who you are working for. email me if you don’t want to broadcast it and I promise to keep a secret! and then you can delete this msg… I’m dying to know! Celebrity!?


Leave a comment